View topic - Persistent Routes

Persistent Routes

anything that doesn't fit to other groups.

Persistent Routes

Postby mvoity » Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:40 pm

Hello,

We are a agency that has purchased 2 Telephone recorders from Dictaphone to record telephone and radio conversations at our police department. These recorders have a version of qnx operating system on them to run a program to record the telephone and radio conversations. These recorders are on our network. Since we are Law enforcement agency we have a private and public safety network separated by a router / firewall with special access control lists.

My question is the recorders have a default gateway of 192.168.11.1. I need my computers on the public safety network to talk to the recorders. I need to add a Persistent route to the recorder of 192.168.11.2 for the recorders to talk to that other network.

I have added routes like this to my other windows and bsd servers that I have on my network. Things work fine.

I think the command that is in the operating system “routeâ€
mvoity
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Burlington, VT

RE: Persistent Routes

Postby noc » Thu Oct 06, 2005 12:22 am

Are you saying you can actually login to the "recorder" just as if you are working on a computer?

If so, you can do the usual command line thing.

Please post the output of "uname -a" so that we know what version of QNX you are using.

"route" can indeed be used to change the routes but you will lose it upon reboot. Depending on the versions of QNX, there are ways to make the "routes" persistent.
noc
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 4:34 am

RE: Persistent Routes

Postby mvoity » Thu Oct 06, 2005 1:39 am

Thanks,

This is the output.
6.2.1 2003/01/18-02:12:22est x86pc x86

I know the answer to this but i have to ask it:

If i was to add a route into this box to make it a persistent route would it harm or break the software that is running on the box to record the telephone and radio calls?

I think the answer is no. Becasue this only effects the Tcp/ip stack of the ethernet board and adds in another gateway for the box to access another network.

your thoughts?

-Mike
mvoity
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Burlington, VT

RE: Persistent Routes

Postby cburgess » Thu Oct 06, 2005 3:11 pm

I think it also depends on the tcpip stack - do a pidin -Pio-net mem to see if you are using ttcpip or tcpip
cburgess
QNX Master
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:40 pm
Location: Ottawa

RE: Persistent Routes

Postby mvoity » Fri Oct 14, 2005 9:28 pm

Here is the response from the Server:

bpd-btv-rec01:/home/logger>pidin -Pio-net mem
pid tid name prio STATE code data stack
233488 1 sbin/io-net 10o SIGWAITINFO 56K 748K 8192(516K)*
233488 2 sbin/io-net 10o RECEIVE 56K 748K 4096(68K)
233488 3 sbin/io-net 12o RECEIVE 56K 748K 4096(68K)
233488 4 sbin/io-net 10o RECEIVE 56K 748K 4096(68K)
233488 5 sbin/io-net 21o RECEIVE 56K 748K 4096(132K)
233488 6 sbin/io-net 10o RECEIVE 56K 748K 4096(132K)
ldqnx.so.2 @b0300000 312K 16K
devn-speedo.so @b8200000 44K 8192
npm-tcpip.so @b820d000 596K 140K
/dev/mem @40100000 (f4100000) 4096

Looks like tcpip?
mvoity
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Burlington, VT

RE: Persistent Routes

Postby noc » Sun Oct 16, 2005 6:12 am

You have two ways:
1) traditional Unix way of using route command. You can add the command in the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file.

2) QNX 6 way of using /etc/net.cfg file. When QNX boots, the netmanager will read the net.cfg file and apply the settings.
noc
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 4:34 am

RE: Persistent Routes

Postby mvoity » Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:25 pm

If the vendor chooses to use the net manager way what should the command look like?

The additional network information is:

Gateway: 192.168.11.2
NetID: 159.105.8.128
NetMask 255.255.255.192

The command in windows is:

Route add 159.105.8.128 mask 255.255.255.192 192.168.11.2 metric 1 -p

-Mike
mvoity
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Burlington, VT

RE: Persistent Routes

Postby noc » Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:33 pm

You can manually edit the /etc/net.cfg file, but I don't think the file format is ever documented. Another way is to use the GUI network config tool: phlip. it will save your configs in the /etc/net.cfg.
noc
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 4:34 am

RE: Persistent Routes

Postby mvoity » Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:39 pm

Thanks for the Help. This should help the Vendor Fix this issue for me. I would do it myself but the root password is a secret.

-Mike
mvoity
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Burlington, VT


Return to General Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests