View topic - QNX on VMWARE server

Page 1 of 1

QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:56 pm
by jinma
I'm trying to run QNX on vmware server that is hosted by Terremark (vCloud Express). I made it boot to QNX from CD but it can't detect the HD because it uses vSCSI. I tried to start various SCSI driver manually but it is not working. Does anyone have any suggestion, the HW information from "pci -v" is:

class= mass storage (SCSI)
vendor ID = 1000h, LSI Logic / Symbios Logic
Device ID = 30h, 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual Ultra320 SCSI
PCI index = oh
...
..
...
PCI IO Address = 1400h length 256 enabled
..
..
..
Interrupt line ==11

Re: QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:49 pm
by maschoen
See if devb-ncr8 is on 6.5 and if it works. Otherwise look for other VMWare options. It's hard to believe it doesn't support EIDE, and/or ATAPI, and or some AHA (Adaptec) controller.

Re: QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:01 am
by jinma
okay, I've tried qnx 6.3.2 devb-ncr8 but it didn't work, do you think 6.5.0 might have more chipset support? I know, I was disappointed when Terremark only supported LSI Logic vSCSI.

Re: QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:36 am
by maschoen
jinma wrote:okay, I've tried qnx 6.3.2 devb-ncr8 but it didn't work, do you think 6.5.0 might have more chipset support? I know, I was disappointed when Terremark only supported LSI Logic vSCSI.


The QNX hardware database says no.

Re: QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:44 pm
by mario
If they are using ESX 4.0 IDE is support if it's an older version ( I've played with 3.?) you can use the btmm driver however you have to specify the pci did and vid.

Re: QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:15 pm
by jinma
IDE is not an option so I guess they are using 3.0??
I didn't know you could specify vid,did with btmm driver? the doc only shows ioport and irq.

Re: QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:30 pm
by mario
jinma wrote:IDE is not an option so I guess they are using 3.0??
I didn't know you could specify vid,did with btmm driver? the doc only shows ioport and irq.


My mistake, you have to use pci -v to obtain the port and interrupt and then start the btmm driver with these value. From memory these values never changed from reboot to reboot. I assume that if one changed the VM config then it could change.

Re: QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:18 pm
by jinma
I actually ran this and it returns "no btmm interface found"...... :(
Maybe I should try it with 6.5? not 6.3.2?

Re: QNX on VMWARE server

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:31 pm
by mario
Probably haven't touch 6.3.2 in a LONG time.