View topic - DST change for 4.25?

DST change for 4.25?

For the old QNX2 and QNX4 RTOS

DST change for 4.25?

Postby JasonFE » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:47 pm

Is there an update or some way to change the DST start/end times in 4.25? A quick search around here revealed a thread for newer versions, but not for 4.
JasonFE
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:11 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

RE: DST change for 4.25?

Postby thue » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:07 am

There is an enviromental variable called TZ. Look in the helpviewer for "timezone" and you will find some informations and exmaples. Or look for "timezone" at qnx.com

E.g. for eastern Timezone in the US with the new start and ending time:
Code: Select all
export TZ=EST5EDT4,M3.2.0/02:00:00,M11.1.0/02:00:00

where M3.2.0 means second (2) sunday (0) of March (3) at 2AM
thue
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:19 pm

RE: DST change for 4.25?

Postby mario » Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:49 pm

mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

RE: DST change for 4.25?

Postby JasonFE » Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:34 pm

Fantastic. Thanks to both of you.
From the first reply, I figured I need CST6CDT5,M3.2.0/02:00:00,M11.1.0/02:00:00
The link in the second reply shows CST06CDT05,M3.2.0/2,M11.1.0/2 for central. I guess all those 0s are optional?
JasonFE
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:11 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

RE: DST change for 4.25?

Postby thue » Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:29 am

Yes.

The Helpviewersays about the offset (6 or 5 in your case):
[...] The hour (hh) is required, and may be a single digit [...]
and about the time (2:00:00):
[...] Time has the same format as offset [...]
thue
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:19 pm

RE: DST change for 4.25?

Postby JasonFE » Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:56 pm

Now this is odd. When I make the change the clock jumps an hour ahead. The previous setting was just cst06cdt. (I'm not sure who set that up) I was changing it to CST06CDT05,M3.2.0/2,M11.1.0/2 or equiv. I tried changing the date in the BIOS to before and after the new time change. Either way I end up with the same time; one hour ahead of what I should have currently.


OK, I guess I'm just off my game today. I stepped away to look at something else for a while, then came back and realized I used a 'm' in the line instead of 'M'
:oops:
JasonFE
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:11 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

RE: DST change for 4.25?

Postby booBot » Mon Feb 19, 2007 1:29 pm

Also, make sure your /etc/config/sysinit.$NODE has rtc hw rather than the rtc -l hw.
booBot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 5:07 pm


Return to QNX2 and QNX4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests