View topic - Audi HDD

Page 1 of 1

Audi HDD

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:10 am
by cshamoh
Hi,
I'm sorry if it is totally dump question, but I'm simply a newbe to QNX.
I have 2.5" HDD taken out from Audi and I need to read its content. Thing is that any it partitions just won't mount. I tried both Linux built in QNX4 and QNX4FS from qnxfs.narod.ru with no luck. Fdisk reports first 3 partitions as QNX4.x, but when I am trying to mount them I get errors like (I cant remember it exactly now) "no root folder" and something with boot block?
Would anyone here know by any chance if Audi is using some proprietary QNX FS? Or is it just some how protected against reading the content?
I someone could give me a hint on how to get this working I would be so much appreciative.

Thank you
K

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 6:35 pm
by maschoen
If you have a QNX system HD with spatch, and compare it with your disk, you might learn something.

If I were them, here is what I'd do. I'd build encryption into the driver. That could scramble the data and/or the positions of the data in a sector. The simplest way to do this would be to have 512 bytes of random data as a key that you XOR onto each sector. If you search the outer reaches of the drive and you find duplicate sectors, but no all zeros, you might have come across the key. Of course they might have done something more sophisticated.

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:56 am
by cshamoh
Thnx!
Thats def a starting point.

Regs
K

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:42 pm
by denkelly
Have you tried chkfsys? May be as simple as a corrupt filesystem which refuses to mount.

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:13 am
by cshamoh
@maschoen: Thank you. Thats def a starting point. BTW would you by any chance also know what remaining 3 (except) partitions (unknown) are?
@denkelly: I doubt its a corrupted as it works in MMI...

Thnx
K

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:56 pm
by maschoen
After reading your original post again carefully, I discovered that you are not using QNX, but instead Linux with a QNX 4 file system.

That suggests one more obvious possibility. There is a completely new file system that comes with QNX 6. I know this is confusing, but maybe this will help.

QNX 4 (OS) - QNX 4 file system

QNX 6 (OS) - QNX 4 file system or QNX 6 file system

It is unlikely that there is a Linux driver for the QNX 6 file system.

So your best bet would be to get a QNX 6 OS and see if it can read the drive.

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:51 pm
by cshamoh
Its not confusing at all but thank you :)
How new is QNX6? As far as I know those HDDs have been put there since 2007...

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:45 pm
by maschoen
I don't know for sure, but I don't think the QNX6 FS was around in 2007.

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:09 pm
by darkeagle
Hello
Please have you mounted the audi HD?
Can you help me? I'm trying to mount also...
Thank yoi

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:39 pm
by maschoen
darkeagle wrote:Hello
Please have you mounted the audi HD?
Can you help me? I'm trying to mount also...
Thank yoi


Darkeagle,

Good luck on this. Did you notice that the last post before yours was 9 years ago?

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:14 am
by Thunderblade
It was in 2011 - not 9 years ago - but I know what you mean, you read the date when the user registered. Happens to me once in a while aswell :)

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:48 pm
by maschoen
Thunderblade wrote:It was in 2011 - not 9 years ago - but I know what you mean, you read the date when the user registered. Happens to me once in a while aswell :)


Oppse, yes. Shows how bad my memory is these days.

Re: Audi HDD

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:35 am
by pindour
for bmw cic same problem