View topic - Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

For discussion of realtime and/or embedded programming.

Re: Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Postby _KB_ » Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:44 pm

There is no "clean" in the builder view (see picture attached).
I'm sure I have recompiled the ifs because I changed the welcome message printed in the shell.
Buf for a reason I ignored it doesn't include the file I have on C:\QNX650\target\qnx6\x86\boot\sys

edit: I'll have a go with the instrumented kernel...
edit2: OK same date (2012) on target and host with the instrumented kernel ! The binaries are different though (winmerge comparison)...
Attachments
Sans titre.png
(12.54 KiB) Not downloaded yet
_KB_
Active Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Postby nico04 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:01 pm

There is no "clean" in the builder view (see picture attached).

Main menu Project/Clean...

Buf for a reason I ignored it doesn't include the file I have on C:\QNX650\target\qnx6\x86\boot\sys

Check there is no procnto in your BSP precompiled folder/subfolders

The binaries are different though (winmerge comparison)...

Before being added to the ifs, executables are stripped (not needed information like debug data are removed).
nico04
Senior Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Postby _KB_ » Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:32 pm

OK I switched back to procnto (tried procnto-instr before), recompiled the ifs and now I have the same year (2012) on both host and target!
So far the kernel seems more stable (no dump), I will wait few hours to be sure.
I'm not sure how I've ended up with a 2010-procnto on the target in the first place...anyway...
Thanks Nico for the good lead!
_KB_
Active Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Postby Tim » Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:04 pm

_KB_ wrote:I don't know how to transfer procnto-2012 onto the target (I trieds to rebuild an ifs but I don't know how to add this version of procnto in the builder)...


Presumably you are using the QNX IDE (ifs project) to build your ifs image.

You likely have your copy of the 2012-procnto in the wrong directory. You probably have to manually copy the 2012-procnto to the right spot in order for the IDE to include it in the ifs image.

One way is to search your Windows harddrive (assuming you using Windows and not Linux to compile) looking for procnto (I use agent ransack but there are other good tools for searching). You'll likely come across more than 1 (in fact I think they are called something like procnto-x86-smp so best to just search for procnto). The IDE usually copies the right one (based on X86 vs PPC vs SMP vs non-SMP) and renames it to procnto in the ifs.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1466
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Postby nico04 » Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:47 am

_KB_ wrote:OK I switched back to procnto (tried procnto-instr before), recompiled the ifs and now I have the same year (2012) on both host and target!

Switching procnto to procnto-instr to procnto solved the issue for... procnto.
What about other binaries made to run with this version of procnto ?
Among others, libc.so is a critical one.
You should really investigate further to make sure everything is up to date.

Clean then build is the first step ;)
nico04
Senior Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Postby _KB_ » Fri Nov 22, 2019 8:37 am

You're absolutely right.

So far I inspected libc.so and libs.so.3 binaries on the target.
They both are from 2012 (besides, "SP1" is mentionned in libc.so binary).

Not sure what to check next but will do. Thanks again.
_KB_
Active Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Postby _KB_ » Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:16 pm

Nico,

I analyzed the core files from former crashes (postmortem debugging) and I came accross this message :

Code: Select all
warning: Host file C:/QNX650/target/qnx6/x86/lib/libc.so.3 does not match target file.


Would it be because I had procnto (2010) running on the target with libc (2012) back then?
If so, I shouldn't come accross this message anymore as procnto and libc are now sync?

Otherwise, no more crash since I've updated procnto (4500+ reboot). Thanks 8)

edit: the binaries are differents between target and host, however they all contain "2012" in the file. Not sure if normal :roll:
Last edited by _KB_ on Wed Nov 27, 2019 9:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
_KB_
Active Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Errors while using dhcp.client (possibly due to if_up)

Postby nico04 » Tue Nov 26, 2019 3:59 pm

_KB_ wrote:I analyzed the core files from former crashes (postmortem debugging) and I came accross this message :

Code: Select all
warning: Host file C:/QNX650/target/qnx6/x86/lib/libc.so.3 does not match target file.


Would it be because I had procnto (2010) running on the target with libc (2012) back then?
If so, I shouldn't come accross this message anymore as procnto and libc are now sync?

Right.

Otherwise, no more crash since I've updated procnto (4500+ reboot). Thanks 8)

You're welcome :)

edit: the binaries are differents between target and host, however they all contain "2012" in the file. Not sure if normal :roll:

As I already said in a previous post, binaries are stripped before being added to the ifs. So, the binaries on the dev machine and the ones on the target are different. This makes comparison between both difficult (the size is not meaningful).

Nicolas
nico04
Senior Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Previous

Return to Realtime and Embedded

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron