View topic - press esc for alternate os + 2 points then stop on qnx4

press esc for alternate os + 2 points then stop on qnx4

For the old QNX2 and QNX4 RTOS

press esc for alternate os + 2 points then stop on qnx4

Postby calavera68 » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:26 pm

Hello, again with a problem in qnx 4.23a

as written in subject:

system boots up
after bootloader he shows:

Press esc for alternate os and 2 Points, then system hangs....

what can i do ?

pleas help
calavera68
calavera68
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:23 pm

RE: press esc for alternate os + 2 points then stop on qnx4

Postby juanplacco » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:30 pm

Check the fan cooler :)
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

RE: press esc for alternate os + 2 points then stop on qnx4

Postby calavera68 » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:34 pm

cooler is ok
calavera68
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:23 pm

Postby Tim » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:46 pm

Calavera68,

Is this a system where QNX was booting before but has now stopped?

Or is this a brand new system (this also means an existing system where you replaced some hardware) you are trying to get running?

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1451
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Postby calavera68 » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:28 pm

system was running, i made a copy of the system to another harddrive, where last command is
dinit /dev/hd1t77 and maybe i used hd0t77 instead, so i fu..ed the boot sector ? and if you think, that i did, what can i do to correct it ?

thanks
calavera68
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:23 pm

Postby mario » Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:27 pm

With dinit you basically wipe the partition clean. Dinit should be the first thing you do and then copy the files. You have to start again.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

Postby calavera68 » Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:00 pm

sorry, maybe i wrote the wrong things....
it was something like dinit -B -h /dev/hd1t77 and so on, which should be a command to rewrite the boot sector... the command worked more than once before, so I'm sure that the command was correct except i used hd0t77 instead of hd1t77, where i coppied to...

thanks
calavera 68

what do the 2 points at that stage mean
normally the systems are starting with counting up to (?) 7 points, than i see the hardcards/partitions and the system is running
You have to start again

my problem is, that the original system, that i want to copy to a new harddrive is not working and i'm looking for something like: boot a bootable floppy - start the command ??? and the original system should run. I got a harddrive with the same system running as well if i need to.
something like the working one as master - the hanging system as slave and so on...
calavera68
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:23 pm

Postby juanplacco » Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:27 am

Yes, a simple way could be to configure your working system as Master and the broken as Slave, then, after boot, you can mount the partition, at least to recover all the information. Then you could install again QNX from scratch and then copy your info...
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

Postby vgamboa » Sat Dec 27, 2008 12:43 am

Hi... Try changing the value from LBA to not LBA on the BIOS configuration or viceversa.
vgamboa
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 10:10 pm


Return to QNX2 and QNX4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron