View topic - Parallel IO for robotics

Parallel IO for robotics

anything that doesn't fit to other groups.

Parallel IO for robotics

Postby DarkStar793252 » Sun Feb 15, 2004 3:20 pm

Hello, I'd like to control a robot with parallel port ! (with out8() and in8() )

Then (tell me if I'm wrong), I have 17 IO bits : 12 output(0x378) and 5 input (0x379 and 0x37A), I can use these bits as I want ? In other words, can I use an input in place of ouput and vise versa ?
I want to control a robot with 8 output and 8 intput for sensors.

Do you have some advices for me ? :)

Thank you !
DarkStar793252
Active Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 12:08 pm

Postby mario » Sun Feb 15, 2004 3:40 pm

You can't do that, there is only 8 io lines (maybe 9 or 10 not sure), each line can be set to either input or output but not at the same time. That being said you could have an external cirtual that has some sort of multiplexe system. Or far easier get an IO module (ISA or PCI) some of them are real cheap. I haven't look but there must probably be some device with >8 io available for parallel port as well.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

Postby bren-uk » Sun Feb 15, 2004 3:46 pm

i found some useful stuff that may be of help:

Some general QNX tips plus some detailed examples of using the parallel port.
http://psy.swansea.ac.uk/staff/Carter/QNX/

Some detaile info on the parallel port.
ftp://ftp.armory.com/pub/pub/user/rstev ... a96lpt.faq

Hope this is of some use.
bren-uk
Active Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:22 pm

Postby DarkStar793252 » Sun Feb 15, 2004 4:17 pm

Thank you for the doc :) , it will certainly be useful for me... !
DarkStar793252
Active Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 12:08 pm


Return to General Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests