View topic - Synchronization via LAN

Synchronization via LAN

anything that doesn't fit to other groups.

Synchronization via LAN

Postby xander » Wed Oct 01, 2003 5:14 pm

Hello.

QNX manual speaks that named semaphores may be used to synchronize different processes via LAN. (I.E.: "As a useful variation, a named semaphore service is also available. It uses a resource manager and as such allows semaphores to be used between processes on different machines connected by a network. ")

The problem :

There is a local network. Each machine runs the one process which should be synchronized. Processes are similar. I'd like to synchronize processes via LAN with the help of named semaphore. Other ways to synchronize processes have already checked. (I mean messages, timers etc.) Everyrthing works well enough, but it needs to use semaphores.

If one had some experience in this problem or something like that please help.
xander
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Russia

Postby cdm » Thu Oct 02, 2003 5:15 am

Are you asking what the API is for using semaphores on the network?
cdm
QNX Master
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2002 9:38 am

Postby xander » Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:50 am

cdm wrote:Are you asking what the API is for using semaphores on the network?
There is no problem to use semaphores to synchronize local processes (sem_open, sem_unlink etc.)
I want to synchronize remote processes via LAN. So, it's not clear how to use it. Manual refers to manager "mqueue". Is it necessary to use mqueue API and how?

Thanks a lot.
xander
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Russia

Postby chen » Thu Oct 02, 2003 11:56 am

After haveing created a named sem,and nqet is working,then you can use it as the way as the local sem,just sem_open("/net/node/remote_sem_name"..).
I never test it,but that is usual way the QNX works.
chen
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 9:24 am

Postby xander » Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:26 pm

chen wrote:After haveing created a named sem,and nqet is working,then you can use it as the way as the local sem,just sem_open("/net/node/remote_sem_name"..).
I never test it,but that is usual way the QNX works.

Thanks. It works well enough.
But it's uncomfortable to address to the specific node for each process. So, if you know something about node organization let me know please.
xander
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Russia


Return to General Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron